Reviews From Around The Web

Our Reviews

Write yours

“I will not go anywhere but TUFFY! I’ve been scammed at many other auto repair places in the area closer to where I live. They are not pushy, they do a great job, and I have trusted them with my car repairs for 4 years! I will always drive the extra distance to come to this location. ”

Taylor Thompson

Mar 16, 2021 – Coralville, IA

“I ALWAYS come to Tuffy’s. I always get the best treatment & you cannot beat the prices. As a female, it’s hard to find a place that will treat you as well as the guys at this place. I never leave feeling confused about what’s wrong with my vehicle or dumb because I don’t know what they’re talking about. I am always well informed and leaving with a smile on my face. I recommend this place to everyone.”

Soulai Dunseith

Mar 10, 2021 – North Liberty, IA

“I found all the faculty to be extremely professional, courteous, knowledgeable, honest and timely. I will certainly be back and recommend them to my friends ”

Lauren Willberg

Feb 23, 2021 – Iowa city , IA

“Fast service, very friendly. They seemed extremely busy but STILL provided great service and got everything taken care of quickly. Pricing to fix everything was much better than I expected too.”

Ian W

Feb 18, 2021 – Solon, IA

“In town for a few days visiting family. Had a oil leak in daughters car that was repaired as well as radiator and power steering flush. Also oil change and tire rotation. Very good service at fair prices . Manager Dee was friendly and explained issues with me. Highly recommend.”

Mark Hohenwarter

Feb 02, 2021 – Beaufort , SC

“Honestly cannot beat the price here (at least in Iowa City). Even if you have full synthetic, for $50, they will refill your fluids, change your oil+filter, refill your transmission fluid, and refill your tires with air. Saved me a bunch of money. Local Dealerships are charging $150 for this same thing and it’s ridiculous. Great job Tuffy! You have my business while I’m in Iowa city. ”

Matt S

Jan 25, 2021 – Iowa City, IA

“Some of the most friendly people excellent work I am truly happy and ecstatic about the service given buy them”

Isaac Jenkins

Jan 16, 2021 – Dearborn, MI

“Adam and Jacob took excellent care and pride in the service that they provide. They got my vehicle in the same day and repaired it. When a vehicle was needed for driving a rental was obtained. Would highly recommend for service.”

Kurt B

Nov 14, 2020 – Homestead , IA

“Had a great experience, my car was done in just a few hours which was great, highly recommend”

Mia Nelson

Nov 08, 2020 – Iowa City, IA

“Timely service, accurate diagnosis (I already knew what the issues were) and an unbeatable price! My repairs were very costly and they assisted me in choosing the best and safest options for my budget. Excellent customer service, I was made to feel appreciated and human! I’m new to the area and stumbled across Tuffy’s by chance and I will never go anywhere else!”

Kris Cobb

Oct 07, 2020 – North Liberty, IA

“The guys at Tuffy did a great job taking care of my daughter’s car who is a college student! They were honest, they did great work and they were affordable! They’ve definitely earned our business. ”

Tracy Ventling

Sep 26, 2020 – Altoona, IA

“Having questions or actual problems about your vehicle is never a pleasant experience. Having someone you can trust who can figure things out and fix them properly is the cure to the ill. Tuffy is the cure and my vehicles are healthy thanks to the good care they get at Tuffys. They're always reliable and fair and provide excellent service.”

Doug B

Sep 11, 2020 – Iowa City, IA

“Wonderful customer service, excellent service! Great people ”

Leah Stitt

Aug 31, 2020 – Iowa city, IA

“Quick and affordable”

Aric pearson

Aug 23, 2020 – Coralville, IA

“Great and friendly service. Lots of finance option for those who are in a bind. You won’t go wrong with tuffy iowacity”

Olivia Fuller

Jul 18, 2020 – Iowacity, IA

“Had a great experience at Tuffy's Iowa City. Got me in and out in one day, gave me a rental vehicle, and gave me 15 percent off for being a part of UI Healthcare. Car drives great. Definitely recommend Tuffy's and I will be returning for sure.”

Jordan Burtch

Jul 17, 2020 – Iowa City, IA

“Great service! Scheduled for an oil change and the charge was as estimated with no additional added fees fro synthetic oil or filter. Adam checked in with me regarding an ac filter and was able order and set up installation appointment. Tuffy is straightforward and reliable. I have had of adverse experiences prior. Thanks”

Laurie Jones

Jul 07, 2020 – Iowa City, IA

“Adam at Tuffy's saved our trip! Very courteous, knowledgeable, friendly, professional! He stayed late to help us get back on the road saving our trip from California to Indiana. So helpful! Many thanks!”

Reed Gratz

Jun 25, 2020 – Pomoan, CA

“I've been going to Tuffy's IC for years. That says it. Always accurate, courteous and good to their word. Best value in car care I know of. I would only recommend my family, other loved ones and friends because I want them to be happy. I hope I don't have to see you again soon, but I'll be happy to see you i”

Douglas e

May 28, 2020 – iowa city, IA

“I've been going to Tuffy for years, they are very accommodating and are willing to work with you on what needs to be done! ”

Amanda Ramos

May 27, 2020 – Coralville, IA

“This business has always been incredibly helpful and open in communication with me. I was overcharged by a different local car service and Tuffy Iowa City has been a breath of fresh air. I appreciate their staff for being so helpful and honest. I will never go anywhere else in Iowa City.”

Dani P

May 18, 2020 – IOWA CITY, IA

“Got my car in and out same day. Adam does a great job at the store always smiling, and has a warm greeting.”

Carlos B

Apr 20, 2020 – North liberty, IA

“Fast service, up front pricing and friendly staff. I appreciate how honest this company is. ”

Ian W

Mar 22, 2020 – Iowa City, IA

“Its always good to know the guys keep my car in shape.Otherwise i could be towed. Thanks everyone for the great service.”

daniel berry

Jan 01, 2020 – Iowa City, IA

“Its always good to know the guys keep my car in shape.Otherwise i could be towed. Thanks everyone for the great service.”

daniel berry

Jan 01, 2020 – Iowa City, IA

“I had a 3pm appointment. I arrived 20 mins early, expecting to wait, they got my car in right away. They were up front about the pricing, quick with getting the appointment done. ”

Ian W

Dec 21, 2019 – S, IA

“Thank you Tuffy of Iowa City. I needed an oil change and made the appointment on the same day I called. I also had my check engine light come on that same morning. I asked them to check that out and they discovered it was the thermostat. Even though I didnt have an appointment to have that fixed (replaced, they told me they had one in stock and would be able to replace it. I was so happy because I wouldnt have to take off work another day and wouldnt have to worry about not having heat in my car. They were all very courteous and respectful and explained what they did. they got the work done sooner than they had predicted. I will most definitely use their services again and recommend them to others.”

Ellen W

Dec 17, 2019 – West Branch, IA

“Thorough check of car was done with good explanation of things to repair as oil change was performed.”

Jacqueline S

Oct 02, 2019 – FAIRFIELD, IA

“I recommend it”

Amir E

Aug 08, 2019 – Iowa City, IA

“Exceptionally excellent. Michael was the guy I had the most interaction with but they all seemed to make it a positive experience. They seemed to work well together they didn’t hesitate to stay open past close to help me get my car safe and ready for the road. They not only earned a repeat customer but a loyal customer as well. The guy with the long hair worked fast and efficient very satisfied with the service. ”

Russell B

May 20, 2019 – North liberty , IA

“Exceptionally excellent. Michael was the guy I had the most interaction with but they all seemed to make it a positive experience. They seemed to work well together they didn’t hesitate to stay open past close to help me get my car safe and ready for the road. They not only earned a repeat customer but a loyal customer as well. The guy with the long hair worked fast and efficient very satisfied with the service. ”

Russell B

May 20, 2019 – North liberty , IA

“I had an awesome experience at Tuffys. They were able to get me in very quickly and fixed the problem the same day. Adam was excellent, and helped me through the hurdles.. almost a little oops at the end but he pulled through smoothly and got me going!! Thanks so much for getting me back on the road! ”

Traci H

Apr 26, 2019 – Iowa City, IA

“ I can’t think the people at Tuffys enough… Especially Michael! My daughters car had issues when she was traveling from Des Moines to Chicago. They were so amazing about getting her car in, and getting it checked out quickly and fixed. They went above and beyond. They kept me updated as to what was going on!! Fabulous!!! Thanks Michael ! ”

Scarlett K

Mar 08, 2019 – Homewood, IL

“I've been taking my car here since I got it. Friendly service and quick turnaround. Also appreciate them giving me a heads up about things on my vehicle that will be coming up in future appointments.”

Shuva R

Feb 20, 2019 – Iowa City, IA

“Very friendly staff. They fix your car right the first time ans arw always up front and honest!”

Ian W

Feb 10, 2019 – Solon, IA

“They were kind to my mother and her old car when she visited. I've since used them for my car and have been happy with their service.”

Anne J

Feb 06, 2019 – Iowa City, IA

“Thanks for going over the sunroof task. Sorry you can't fix. But your kindness and explaining things about the service today was excellent. ”

Nina Furlong

Jan 14, 2019 – Iowa city, IA

“Though I have spent many hours and dollars here, the staff has been very helpful in making my experience the best it could be. Michael and Adam are both very friendly, easy to talk to, communicative, accommodating, and empathetic. Michael tried to help me out as much as possible financially too. I appreciate all the work all these guys do! I will continue to come here as long as I'm in the area, no doubt.”

Jessica E

Dec 14, 2018 – Iowa City, IA

“I am so pleased about my Tuffy's experience today! I had headlights that were out and had purchased some headlights at an auto parts store where they informed me that it was likely a fuse issue rather than a headlight issue and would not help me figure out which it was. I headed over to Tuffy's and Michael was so kind. He offered to check my car over to truly diagnose the issue. He informed me that it was the bulbs and replaced the bulbs for me at no cost! I am truly impressed. It was the best service I've ever received from any auto service center”

Leah H

Dec 13, 2018 – Iowa City, IA

“I got stuck totally without brakes while on a hunting trip. Adam and his team got me up and running quickly. I was shown the needed work and was able to get back to my trip in a timely courteous manner.”

BD D

Dec 08, 2018 – Des Moines, IA

“I brought my much used car in for a complete check-up. The guys at Tuffy were very thorough in their inspection and highlighted safety concerns when they detected some. They were resourceful in obtaining parts that were not so easy to find and provided urgent service in the shortest time possible. Theirs was not a sales pitch rather a genuine concern and a willingness to provide fair advice and reliable auto-care when sought. I feel Tuffy is a good go-to place for automobile issues. Thanks!”

Rohit N

Sep 20, 2018 – Iowa City, IA

“I have used Tuffy in Cedar Rapids numerous times, and now the Iowa City location as well. I've always been pleased with the service I receive and the attention given. I appreciate their advice without the hard sell. Thank you.”

Desmond D

Jun 25, 2018 – Coralville, IA

“I needed an inspection on a car i was buying and Mike and team was extremely helpful to go above and beyond to give me details on the car i was buying sight unseen. I highly recommend this company to anyone needing quality service. ”

Randy C

Jun 20, 2018 – Opelika, AL

“I bought a car and took it to Tuffy to get an oil change and to get an diagnostic test done to make sure i didn't buy a lemon lol. I had the pleasure of meeting Mike Miller and Travis Danner these two guys were amazing got me in and right out! I love this place i will not be taking my car to any other shop if its not Tuffy!!!! I left a very Satisfied customer”

Sharmeka W

Jun 03, 2018 – IOWA CITY, IA

“Great customer service! Fast tire replacement and great price.”

Linda Beck

May 02, 2018 – St. Olaf, IA

“I have utilized Tuffy 2x. First time was an excellent experience in every way. The second time involved a failure to communicate the additional costs on an expensive repair. The manager reached out to me immediately and made it right. He fought for my business. ”

Bill M

Apr 10, 2018 – Iowa city, IA

“I have had nothing but great experiences here, and staff is beyond frequently and helps me get back on the road. I highly suggest the Iowa City location!! Keep it up Tuffys!! ”

Jordyn M

Mar 10, 2018 – Cedar Falls, IA

“Surpassed even my high expectations (warranty work) What a crew that Mike and this station has.They keep their word. Do no hesitate to take your car there.Thank you, Tuffy.”

Dave B

Jan 26, 2018 – Iowa City, IA

“A-mazing. Tuffy's diagnosed my Honda Accord, gave me a quote, secured a rental no charge, waited patiently for us to verify with dealership if under warranty, towed vehicle back to their shop, and did the work for substantially less than was quoted by dealership. They did additional pre-pickup test drive to make certain all was good and explained each issue in depth. I couldn't be happier. Thank you, Mike and your team.”

Kathy T.

Jan 17, 2018 – Lone Tree, IA

“I've made several appointments at Tuffy and I'm more than happy. I appreciate that I'm treated like I'm not His another customer--and they treat everyone with confidence, personality, and concern. I've had no failed repairs, and everything is thoroughly explained so I'm able to make the best decisions for my car, and my budget. Thank you Tuffy!”

Lisa N

Jan 07, 2018 – Iowa City, IA

“When ever I take my car to Tuffy for repairs, I have never felt that they are trying to sell me unnecessary repairs or "padding" the job, and do their best to keep me updated on their progress”

John M

Dec 20, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“I've only taken my car to Tuffy's. Great service, very dependable, and honest. ”

Shuva R

Dec 20, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“Great service, I'm happy with the work they do on my Chevy like to deal with honest people and people who know what they doing, If I need it I Well come back. QG”

Roberto J

Nov 07, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“My battery died and I was stranded in Iowa City, 20 miles from home. I called and the manager took care of everything, and got me home in no time. They were great! S”

Dorothy K

Oct 29, 2017 – , IA

“Very satisfied with prompt, courteous service and VIP discount.”

Mike B

Oct 25, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“I am so pleased with my recent auto service visits at my local Tuffy! What I love most is that they really took the time to explain each service my car required in terms I understood. They were transparent and honest every step of the way. They were also so friendly too! I'm definitely making Tuffy my go to auto repair shop!”

Luke W

Oct 24, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“I would recommend Tuffy in one hundred percent. Craig is a nice and honest person. Honest people! Comfortable environment! Excellent experience!”

Tengyun Xu

Oct 11, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“Once again. thanks to Craig and the Service team the car is running. They figured it out after 2 calls to AAA and had to be towed. Sounds so much better. Tuffy's is more than just service on the car.”

Dan B

Sep 26, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“I have been doing business with Tuffy's in Iowa City for almost 2 years. Matt is the best mechanic I have ever worked with. Matt fixes my car as if it was his own. My job keeps me on the road weekly. Knowing Matt is taking care of my car gives me 100% peace of mind. New manager Luke - Looks like he is fitting I just fine. ”

Chris A

Sep 24, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“Very helpful over the phone. Gave me options, once I arrived at the shop they greeted my daughter in law and I well. We were then welcomed inside and offered some thing to drink as they began to work on my car right away! Very nice people, pretty fast service.”

Manuela M.P

Sep 22, 2017 – Iowa city, IA

“i am a customer for life. Not only are the employees friendly but they tell you exactly what is weong with your vehicle in simple terms. Their prices are fair and I was in and out in a short ampunt of time. They fix things and fix them right. Highly reccomend them. ”

Ian W

Sep 21, 2017 – Solonn, IA

“After driving my vehicle for 8 days after a very complicated and expensive repair, I give this Service station 5 stars. I will recommend them to anyone. It is like I have a brand new vehicle. Perfect and exceptional service. The expense was not on them - it was necessary and they would not to give my vehicle back until they were sure. Well done and money well spent. You have my business.”

Dave B

Sep 20, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“I have nothing but good things to say about the service that I received from Tuffy in Iowa City. Timely service, kind people and caring staff.”

Haluk Sasmazer

Sep 12, 2017 – West Liberty, IA

“I have to say I needed help, being from out of town and having car trouble, I didn't know where to go. So I went inside Tuffy and they were very friendly and fast and professional. They even offered us something to drink and they had a comfortable clean waiting area. I was really impressed. Thanks”

Teresa U

Sep 12, 2017 – Quincy, IL

“Tuffy did a great job all the way around. They were willingness to price-match the competitor is initially what drew me in, but their willingness to go above and beyond by beating the competitor's price is what will keep me coming back. The friendly staff explained things clearly and did a wonderful job with my car. Thanks Tuffy!”

Michael K

Sep 05, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“Craig and the crew got my oil change out very quickly... Plus, discussed some other needed repairs while I was there. They handled it great, even with the stress of my wife being in the hospital.”

Charles A

Aug 27, 2017 – Muscatine, IA

“I am thrilled at the service I received from tuffy's. They fixed my issues in a timely manner and even came to pick me up when my car was done. I will be using them from now on, you have made another loyal customer.”

Derek W

Aug 27, 2017 – IOWA CITY, IA

“A shifting gear clunking noise sent me to Tuffys. I have been going here for several years and they always can fix my problems.I had my car back in 3 days after it needed a computer part.it was a scary ride just to get there. It runs like new and i appreciate the fantastic job they did. Thanks Guys!!!!”

carol berry

Aug 13, 2017 – iowa city, IA

“Very thorough and honest service. Nothing felt coercive nor was there pressure to get anything fixed. However the issues were presented in a clear manner and were explained to me when I didn't understand. Great prices, too. ”

Alex L

Aug 11, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“They have won my business.... Always helpful, always honesty and friendly. I truly believe that they are about their customers!!!! Thanks guys for always fitting me in every when I don't make an appointment. Missy H.”

Missy H.

Jun 30, 2017 – Iowa city, IA

“They have won my business.... Always helpful, always honesty and friendly. I truly believe that they are about their customers!!!! Thanks guys for always fitting me in every when I don't make an appointment. Missy H.”

Missy H.

Jun 30, 2017 – Iowa city, IA

“Dan and his staff at Tuffy Iowa City are by far the the go-to guys if your car is need of service. I have always had a very positive experience there. They are honest, will give you fair and accurate quotes, and will fix your car right on the first visit. I have never had to bring my car back for a redo there.”

Doug G

May 24, 2017 – Cedar Rapids, IA

“I walked in the door at 4:15 on a Saturday afternoon. I was recommended by Auto zone to go to tuffy. I tell them about the problem I'm in and they say "We will take a look at it". As the mechanic is looking at it I ask them "What time do you close"?, they say "4". "Why did you let me", in a asked. We felt we couldn't leave you stranded two 2 days in Iowa City. Danny, Dan, and the mechanic did a very good job of getting me back on the road. ”

Randy R

May 05, 2017 – Rockford, IL

“It was a Saturday and I was staying across the street at the Hampton but the car was sounding like it would not be safe to drive. The woman at the Midas (100 ft away) said she had no one to help but that Tuffy's (300 ft away) might be able to take me. She was right! Danny at Tuffy's had a bay open and got the car in within 2 minutes. Within 10 minutes the tech came back to the office holding a metal disc about the size of a frisbee which had been chewed by a giant robot. That's what it sounded like, I said, but what is it? Danny said it was called a vacuum plate (I believe). Both he and the tech said it wasn't necessary to drive the car. --Anyway, the tech said, the other one's long gone! I decided to have the team complete a safety check, in which they discovered a burnt-out taillight. $28 later and I was good to go. This was all remarkable enough: the speed of repair, the cheapness of my rescue. But far more remarkable to me was the way this shop was run. There were people actually turned away, or rescheduled for the following week for jobs like oil changes. Danny told them he needed to keep some bays open for travelers who needed help before they could continue--people just like me! I should add that it was the day before Easter, and so I could easily have been delayed into the following week if the shop had not been available to me. Thank you Danny Muse, and Tuffy's.”

david d

Apr 20, 2017 – eau claire, IA

“Great people to work with!!”

Mike S

Apr 18, 2017 – Anamosa , IA

“We're big fans of Tuffy's in Iowa City and have been their customers for years. They're very honest and thorough, and we appreciate very much the way they look after us and our cars.”

Jenny W

Apr 04, 2017 – Iowa City, IA

“I was in Iowa City when my Van developed some bad noise under the hood, not knowing any auto dealers we stopped by a tire dealership that recommended that I go to Tuffy Auto service. I was not disappointed the professionalism, courtesy and attention to details that they gave me was outstanding and had me going on my way in short order. Cory and his crew handled my situation with such professionalism and made me feel appreciated in a time I did not know what to do ”

Craig B

Mar 04, 2017 – Pella, IA

“Very good service help me out with all my questions and needsNice and friendly staff”

Steven P

Jul 27, 2016 – West liberty, IA

“Thank you for your excellent work on my van. Ernie got me fixed up and back on the road quick. ”

Shelli R

Jul 15, 2016 – Iowa City, IA

“We had a strut bracket break on our pickup while visiting family in Iowa City. Our so. Took the truck in the next morning without an appointment. They called with an estimate before starting the repair and once we approved they worked us in and fixed it! They are friendly, professional and knowledgeable! All this at great prices as well! Thank you!!! Highly recommend these folks!”

Judy H

Jul 02, 2016 – Cedar Rapids, IA

“Ernie and his crew are always good to me, and take care of me and my 2014 Honda CRV the way it should be taken care. I would recommend Tuffys to anyone looking for a good car repair service. Thanks Ernie.”

Jane B

Apr 08, 2016 – North Librty, IA

“My fiancé and I had an excellent experience with a Tuffy in IL and when our car started to leak gas, we sought out the nearest Tuffy! The mechanics immediately began working on our car and offered us the best price! The waiting room was well maintained and the workers were friendly and lightened our mood during a stressful situation. We highly recommend this Tuffy and wish we lived closer!”

Juliana C

Mar 21, 2016 – Provo, IA

“Exceptionally helpful and professional. They were a huge help and a lifesaver. I don't believe I've ever had better service in my 30+ years of traveling the USA. Thanks !!”

Kirk M

Aug 04, 2013 – Butler, PA

“‎‎"We were traveling through the area when our car started to overheat. We pulled over to the nearest gas station. They recommended Tuffy. Once we got the car there they were not only accommodating and kind, but they started work on it right away and fixed it quickly. A life saver and a trip saver."”

Daniel S

Apr 04, 2013 – Davenport, IA